free consultation
Experienced & Affordable DUI Defense for the Denver Metro Area

How Much Does a DUI Cost in Colorado?

Being arrested and convicted of driving under the influence can be a scary experience for many reasons. Having a DUI on your record can preclude you from obtaining certain jobs, you could end up having to serve time in jail, and you may have to take alcohol classes as well. In addition to having a DUI on your record and dealing with those consequences, there’s another significant piece of why being convicted of a DUI is so damaging: the cost.

DUIs Are Expensive

If you’re convicted of a DUI, it’s inevitable that you will end up paying significant amounts of money to defend yourself. Some of the costs of a DUI will include lawyer’s fees, court fees and fines, and other expenses that you may not have even considered, like the cost of installing an ignition interlock device. As you incur more than one DUI, each subsequent DUI typically becomes more expensive. The following are some of the most common DUI expenses you will incur when convicted in the state of Colorado:

Fines: When convicted of your first DUI, you will be required to pay a fine of between $600 and $1,000.

Alcohol Classes: In some circumstances, you will be required to take an alcohol class after you’ve been convicted of driving under the influence. A Level I alcohol class costs approximately $300, whereas the cost of a Level II alcohol class can cost up to $1,000.

Insurance Increase: After a DUI conviction, it’s almost certain that your car insurance rates will increase. It’s estimated that after a DUI conviction, your car insurance rates could be increased as much as 63 percent.

Ignition Interlock Device: Another DUI cost is the installation of an ignition interlock device in Colorado, which can cost between $70 and $200. In addition to the installment fee, there’s also a monthly fee you must pay, which can be as much as $90 per month. If you can’t afford these prices, you may be able to receive financial assistance. Speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney for help determining eligibility.

License Reinstatement: When it’s time to reinstate your license, you will have to pay to do that as well. This can cost up to $95.

Towing and Impound Fees: Once you’re suspected of and arrested for a DUI, something has to be done with the car you were driving. In many cases, your car will be towed to an impound lot. To get it back, you will have to pay whatever fees are associated with the towing and the impounding of your car, which can be quite significant.

There are many other DUI costs, but the above are some of the most common ones.

Contact A Churchill Criminal Defense For Help

As you can see, being convicted of a DUI can be quite costly and inconvenient. When you’re looking for an attorney to help you with a DUI charge, it’s crucial to find one who is experienced handling these types of cases. When you hire Attorney Kevin Churchill, you can be confident in his dedication, knowledge, and competence. Having handled DUIs for 22 years, Churchill Criminal Defense has the experience you need. Churchill hires many DUI cases including out of state DUI, drug DUI, and underage DUI. There are many aspects of DUIs that can be complex, and if you hire an attorney who doesn’t handle them often, it could be the difference between an acquittal and a guilty verdict, which can end up being very expensive. Contact us today at (303) 832-9000 or use our easy online contact form to schedule a free consultation.