free consultation
303-832-9000
Experienced & Affordable DUI Defense for the Denver Metro Area

Denver Ignition Interlock Device

Being charged with driving under the influence is very upsetting and it can feel very overwhelming. There are a wide array of possible consequences, including jail time, probation, hefty fines, and the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device in your car. If you need help with a DUI conviction and you’re unsure of what to do, contact Attorney Kevin Churchill right away for assistance. Call our Denver DUI attorney at (303) 832-9000 or use our online form to get started with a free consultation.

What is an Ignition Interlock Device?

An ignition interlock device is a machine that is installed in your vehicle that tests your breath before you’re able to start your car. If the device recognizes any alcohol levels from your test, your car will not start. These devices are required for many people who have been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol in Colorado. This type of device can not detect being under the influence of drugs but in the future there could be technological advancements that will be able to.

Even after the car starts, the device can force the driver to use the machine in order to test again to ensure that they remain alcohol free the entire time that they’re operating the vehicle. If this occurs, the driver typically has between four and six minutes to breathe into the machine and show that they are still alcohol free. This helps establish that an individual isn’t drinking while they drive after they start the car, and it also ensures that a sober person doesn’t just blow into the machine for them to get the car started and then let them drive off on their own.

A Restricted License Requires An Ignition Interlock Device

If you are convicted of driving under the influence, you will likely lose your license for at least nine months, possibly much longer if it isn’t your first offense. In some cases, you will be permitted to obtain a restricted license before the nine months has elapsed. One of the requirements of obtaining a restricted license is to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car.

For your first DUI conviction, you can apply for a restricted license after one month, and you will be required to keep the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for at least six months. This is also dependent on your BAC (Blood Alcohol Content), as sometimes for your first conviction, you will be required to use the device for longer if your BAC is above a certain limit. For example, if your BAC is .15% or higher, you can still apply for a restricted license after one month, but you will be required to keep the ignition interlock device in your car for at least two years. In some cases, you may be able to reinstate your license, but you must follow certain requirements.

Cost of Ignition Interlock in Colorado

In Colorado, you have to pay to have the ignition interlock installed, and you also have to pay a monthly maintenance fee. Installation costs anywhere from $70 to $200, and the maintenance fee is typically between $60 and $90 per month.

Contact Churchill Criminal Defense If You Need Help with an Ignition Interlock Device

If you were convicted of driving under the influence and you’ve been required to install an ignition interlock device, Churchill Criminal Defense can help. If you have questions about whether you’re required to have the device installed, or you are confused about what the requirements, Attorney Kevin Churchill can help. He has been handling DUI cases for more than two decades. When you hire Kevin Churchill of Churchill Criminal Defense, you’re hiring an attorney who cares about your case as much as you do. Contact us today at (303) 832-9000 or use our easy online contact form to schedule a free consultation.